Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi Nominated For Player Of The Century Award

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have been nominated for Globe Soccer’s Player of the Century award and the Player of the Year award. The iconic duo has made a 28-man shortlist for a special award to honour the best footballer of the 21st century by the Globe Soccer Awards.

Normally, the event organizers only award the best players, coaches, and agents of a calendar year in an annual ceremony in Dubai, with the latest one to take place on December 27. As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, there will be fewer attendances this year than normal. However, everything will go ahead as planned, including a new award for the best player of the century (21st century, 2001 – 2020).

Meanwhile, fans from around the world are also allowed to vote for their favourite candidate from the 28-man shortlist below. Thus, to take part in the voting, all you have to do is to visit the Globe Soccer website and select your favourite player from the list.

Editor’s Picks

Cristiano Ronaldo Mourns Diego Maradona’s Tragic Loss

Cristiano Ronaldo Tops The List Of The Best-Paid Athletes On Instagram

CIHEFE Snubs Cristiano Ronaldo From A Top 10 La Liga List

The Latest Football Records Cristiano Ronaldo Has Broken

Voters can equally decide on the best coach, club, and agent of the century!

Player Of The Century Award 2001 – 2020 Shortlist

The list below shows the 28 players that stand a chance to emerge the winner of the player of the 21st century. Players have been arranged in alphabetical order of their names starting from their first name.

Andrea PirloIker CasillasRonaldinho
Andres IniestaKakaRonaldo Nazario
Andriy ShevchenkoKylian MbappeSergio Ramos
Arjen RobbenLionel MessiSteven Gerrard
Cristiano RonaldoLuis FigoXavi Hernandez
David BeckhamManuel NeuerZinedine Zidane
Fabio CannavaroMohamed SalahZlatan Ibrahimovic
Francesco TottiNeymar
Frank LampardPhilipp Lahm
Gianluigi BuffonRobert Lewandowski
28-Man Shortlist For Player Of The Century Award 2001 – 2020.

Player Of The Year 2020 Award

Cristiano Ronaldo, also, has been nominated again for Globe Soccer’s Player of the Year award in 2020. The five-time Ballon d’Or winner won the corresponding award last year for a record sixth time and will rival Lionel Messi for it this time around.

In the past, Radamel Falcao, Frank Ribery, and Lionel Messi have all won the award once since it was founded in 2011. Below is the eight-man shortlist for the player of the award in alphabetical order by the player’s first name.

Player ClubCountry
Ciro ImmobileLazioItaly
Cristiano RonaldoJuventusPortugal
Karim BenzemaReal MadridFrance
Lionel MessiBarcelonaArgentina
Robert LewandowskiBayern MunichPoland
Sadio ManeLiverpoolSenegal
Serge GnabryBayern MunichGermany
Eight-Man List For The Player Of Year 2020.

The winners of the awards will be announced on December 27 at the awards annual ceremony in Dubai.

Back to top button